Writing Isn’t What You Think

Today I began reading Amy Poehler’s Yes Please. I’m only a few pages in. Wow. So far it is honest, unapologetic, and bold. It’s also soft and tender. But, mostly the former.

You see, I notice these things because that’s how I write. I write claiming my Good. My God. My Enoughness and all of my Yet To Be.

The longer I stay alive, the more I realize the myriad colors around me. Both actual colors themselves, and colors as a metaphor for the different opportunities Life offers. Our minds are shaped by our experience which shapes our minds and this continues in a cyclical process.

An excerpt from the beginning of Yes Please

Knowing this, I behold my Power to change and choose! I get to make my story! I get to write my life! Friend, YOU get to write your life. Nobody can do that for you. Nor should they. So, if you’re sitting around waiting for someone to come to you with their pen and pad and write your life story, I’ve got to tell you, you’re, um *ahem*… wrong. I know, I know, I’m all about kindness. But, kindness is clarity! And I’m seeking to help you understand this is up to you!

Your entire life is up to you! How you dance, how you smile, how you sing. I don’t care what you’re going through or what you’ve been through.

This? This life thing. Up to you!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started